GS-2, Uncategorized

Why BRICS matters for INDIA?

In the run-up to 11th BRICS summit that is scheduled to be held at Brasilia (Brazil) on 13-14 Nov, Indian Prime Minister has articulated a vision of strengthening and reforming the multilateral system itself. Origin In 2001, the British Economist Jim O’Neill coined the term BRIC to describe the four emerging economies of Brazil, Russia, India and China. The… Continue reading Why BRICS matters for INDIA?

GS-2, International Relations

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Summit at Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

News Summary: Addressing the SCO Summit, Modi raised various issues, including terrorism and trade protectionism. He came up with a new template he described as “HEALTH” for cooperation among SCO members. H for Healthcare cooperation E for Economic cooperation A for Alternative energy L for Literature T for Terrorism-free society H for Humanitarian cooperation On Terrorism: Modi raised the issue of… Continue reading Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Summit at Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

GS-2, International Relations

Eurasian Economic Forum

Recently, the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) organized the Eurasian Economic Union meeting. The forum called for greater cooperation in the spheres of communication, technology, and development amongst its member-nations. The entire event was organized to discuss and deliberate upon China’s Belt and Road Initiative, because of which India, despite being present in the SCO summit, decided to skip this meeting. The forum promoted the revival… Continue reading Eurasian Economic Forum

Agriculture, Environment, GS-3

Explained: How world is losing fertile land

The UNCCD meeting takes place every two years and the ongoing one in Greater Noida is the 14th such meeting. Since this meeting is taking place in India this time so it becomes significant for UPSC. Why is desertification a concern? A variety of factors, both natural and human-induced, are known to be affecting the… Continue reading Explained: How world is losing fertile land

Environment, GS-3, Uncategorized

Living Planet Report 2018: by WWF

CHAPTER 1- WHY BIODIVERSITY MATTERS? The importance of nature in our lives Humans have evolved, grown and thrived, in nature. Modern human society needs the resources of nature to thrive. Perception that nature is ‘nice to have’ and its protection is secondary to the more important tasks of increasing economic growth, creating jobs, enhancing the… Continue reading Living Planet Report 2018: by WWF


This Day in History – April 29 – Chemical Weapons Convention

What happened? The Chemical Weapons Convention entered into force on 29 April 1997. Background The Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) is a multilateral treaty banning chemical weapons and requiring their destruction within the stipulated time. Negotiations for the CWC began in 1980 at the UN Conference on Disarmament. The convention was drafted on 3 September 1992… Continue reading This Day in History – April 29 – Chemical Weapons Convention

Editorials, Uncategorized

The great nuclear disarmament divide

Over the past six years, a concerted effort by committed States, international organizations and civil society to reframe the international discourse on nuclear weapons around humanitarian considerations has gathered significant support. Momentum is now building towards the negotiation of a treaty to comprehensively prohibit nuclear weapons due to their unacceptable humanitarian consequences. A global prohibition… Continue reading The great nuclear disarmament divide

GS-2, International Relations, Uncategorized


What is NSG? Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) is a multinational body concerned with reducing nuclear proliferation by controlling the export and re-transfer of materials that may be applicable to nuclear weapon development and by improving safeguards and protection on existing materials. The NSG aims to prevent nuclear exports for commercial and peaceful purposes from being… Continue reading NSG, NPT, MTCR, IAEA etc

GS-2, International Relations, Uncategorized

India joins The Hague Code of Conduct

India has joined The Hague Code of Conduct against Ballistic Missile Proliferation (HCoC). India’s joining the Code signals its readiness to further strengthen the global non-proliferation regimes. The government has also made it clear that this joining will not have any impact on the national security as well as country’s missile programmes. About HCoC: HCoC… Continue reading India joins The Hague Code of Conduct

GS-2, International Relations, Uncategorized

APEC (Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation)

What is being demanded? An agreement to reduce industrial tariffs to very low levels or eliminate them over a specified time period. An early deal on a Bilateral Investment Treaty with the U.S. Participation in negotiations for a proposed Investment Facilitation Agreement at the World Trade Organisation-level. Background: India has applied for APEC membership in… Continue reading APEC (Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation)